Triumphant Return: Gertie Shirtwaist Dress

 

2015-01-20 13.48.43

I’m back!  I had to take a break from blogging due to some health issues.  But I’m on the mend now and expect to start blogging more often.  I have lots of projects from the last few months to blog about.  Starting with this beauty!

2015-01-20 13.49.04 - cropped 2015-01-20 13.48.57 - cropped

The Gertie Shirtwaist Dress
It took me three muslins to get the fit of this dress right, but it was well worth the effort. I really love it!

Pattern: Shirtwaist Dress from Gertie’s Book for Better Sewing

Fabric: Cotton + Steel cotton lawn

Alterations:
– shortened the back bodice by 2 inches
– shortened the front bodice by 1 inch
– narrowed the back width by 3 inches
– 1 inch narrow shoulder adjustment on the front bodice
– lowered the bodice darts
– took out 3/4 inch under the arm and graded to normal seam at waist
– redrafted sleeve (due to narrow shoulder adjustment)

This is by far the most fitting adjustments I’ve done on a pattern. I can sometimes get away with not doing a FBA (full bust adjustment) but I think with this pattern I should have cut a smaller size and done the FBA which probably would have avoided the need to do the shoulder adjustment.

 

This pattern has some really cute details.  I love the sleeve cuffs.

2015-01-27 16.22.53-1

I also love the shirring at the back waist.  This was my first time trying this technique.  And it makes this dress feel like pajamas they are so comfortable.

2015-01-27 16.23.25 - close up

Last but not least, I made bound buttonholes:

2015-01-27 16.25.28 - cropped 2015-01-27 16.24.04-3

I debated over whether to use navy blue buttons or pink.

I really love this dress, and will definitely be making this pattern again!

5 thoughts on “Triumphant Return: Gertie Shirtwaist Dress

  1. Great dress, the fabric you chose is just perfect!

    I’m thinking about making this dress, but I can’t figure out whether seam allowance is included in the pattern or not. Did you add it?

  2. I am working on this dress right now and I am a bit overwhelmed with all the fitting issues I am running into. But your dress gives me hope ! It looks great, I like your sleeves alot more than the original (or at least than what I got from my 1st muslin).

Leave a Reply

