Bow-Tied Blouse #2 – Peter Pan Collar Variation

Image 

Pattern:  Gertie’s book – Bow-Tied Blouse – Peter Pan Collar Variation

Fabric:  Green shirting cotton. I’m embarrassed to admit this is leftover from a dress I made in the late 90’s!  (It was a Calvin Klein shirt dress)

Alterations:  Graded up in the waist and hips and added an extra button.

This is the second version of the Bow-Tied Blouse (obviously minus the bow tie).  This was the first time I drafted my own peter pan collar (following the directions in Gertie’s book).  I am very pleased with the result.

Image

After reviewing my first post, my official blog photographer (my work colleague Robyn) said we needed a better photo of the French dart.  Check it out:

  Image

I really like this pattern.  I think I’ve got the fit almost perfect… but after looking at the photos for this post I realized that there is a bit of excess fabric in the back.  This seems to be a common fitting issue for me.  I must be short waisted. 

Image

You can really see the baggy back issue in this one:

Image

I will adjust for this in future versions of this top.  I would like to make this top in a liberty print.  And the bow-tied version with some of the double knit fabric I bought on my trip to NYC.  

 

 

 

   

Leave a Reply

